Board Members

The Florida Prepaid College Foundation was established in 1990 and was set up to be the 501(c)3 direct support organization for the Florida Prepaid College Board.

Chairman John D. Rood Chairman John D. Rood
Ambassador John D. Rood was appointed to the Florida Prepaid College Board by Governor Rick Scott in 2016 and is the current Chairman of the Board. As Chairman of the Florida Prepaid College Board, Mr. Rood serves as Chairman of the Florida Prepaid College Foundation Board. Mr. Rood is the founder and chairman of The Vestcor Companies. He served as United States Ambassador to the Commonwealth of the Bahamas from 2004 until 2007. Mr. Rood previously served as a member of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the Board of Governors of the State University System. He is on the Board of Trustees of Flagler College and previously served as a board member for Episcopal High School and Teach for America. Mr. Rood received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Montana.

Vice Chairman Sandra L. Murman Vice Chairman Sandra L. Murman
Former State Representative Murman was elected to the Florida Prepaid College Foundation Board of Directors in December 2004. She served eight years as a member of the House of Representatives and held the position of Speaker pro tempore; vice chairman of the House Appropriations Committee and chairman of the Health & Human Services Appropriations and Health Policy Council. Mrs. Murman had a successful career in business as a manager and sales representative of Top 500 Companies prior to her public service career. She serves on many civic boards and commissions and is an advocate for children, families and seniors. Mrs. Murman has a Bachelor’s degree in Marketing from Indiana University.

Christyne B. Hamilton Christyne B. Hamilton
Ms. Hamilton was elected to the Florida Prepaid College Foundation Board of Directors in March 2007. She is a former member of the Florida Prepaid College Board, former vice president of Administrative and Business Services at Seminole Community College and has more than 40 years of experience working with the community college system and the Division of Community Colleges as Bureau Chief in areas of administration, finance, and business services. Ms. Hamilton also served as the Business Officer for Lake Sumter Community College and, after retiring from Seminole Community College, returned to Lake~Sumter to currently serve as Special Advisor to the President in the role of Equity Consultant. She is the President/Treasurer of the Albert L. Brown Foundation, Inc. She is a former Board member of Lake Sumter Community College Foundation, Inc.; a recent Board member and past Chair (2006-2008) of the Association of Small Foundations, Washington, D.C.; and is a member of a number of local civic and volunteer organizations. Ms. Hamilton has a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Rollins College and a Master’s degree in Accounting from the University of South Florida.

Ron Silver Ron Silver
Mr. Silver was elected to the Florida Prepaid College Foundation Board of Directors in April 2003. He was elected to the Florida Senate in 1992 and subsequently re-elected, serving as the Majority (Democratic) Leader for the 1994 session and Dean of the Legislature. Mr. Silver was a member of the House of Representatives from 1978-1992 and held the position of Chair, Dade County Legislative Delegation; House Majority Whip; House Majority Leader; and House Floor Leader for Governor. Mr. Silver’s career as a lawmaker has yielded a vast and extensive knowledge of public policy issues and the legislative process, allowing him to be an advocate and servant for his diverse community in Miami-Dade County. Mr. Silver currently is president of his own consulting firm (Ron Silver & Associates), which has represented major corporations such as Siemens, Maximus and Advoserve. Mr. Silver has a Bachelor’s degree and law degree from the University of Miami.

Kevin Thompson Kevin Thompson
Kevin Thompson was named the executive director of the Florida Prepaid College Board in April of 2012. He joined the Board in November 2011 as Director of the 529 Savings Plan. With more than 18 years of experience in financial and administrative management, Thompson has served in key roles with several state agencies, most recently serving as Director of Agency Support Services for the Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation (AWI) for the past nine years. Prior to this, he held financial and administrative positions with the Florida Department of Management Services and the Florida Department of Banking and Finance. Mr. Thompson's private sector experience includes stints with Ernst & Young and Law Redd and Crona. Mr. Thompson is a Certified Public Accountant and holds a Bachelor's and Master's degrees in accounting from Florida State University.

Madeline M. Pumariega Madeline M. Pumariega
Madeline M. Pumariega started as Chancellor of the Florida College System in September 2015. Prior to becoming Chancellor, Ms. Pumariega served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Take Stock in Children, a statewide nonprofit organization that aims to help at-risk youth break the cycle of poverty by completing college. Previously, Ms. Pumariega served as President of the Wolfson Campus at Miami Dade College. She was with Miami Dade College for more than a decade, serving in a number of leadership roles. Ms. Pumariega also serves on the board of City Year Miami and was a national Kellogg Fellow for the League for Innovation’s Expanding Leadership Diversity in Community Colleges program. Ms. Pumariega is a doctoral candidate at Barry University and earned her Master of Education from Florida Atlantic University and her Bachelor of Arts from St. Thomas University.